The Forum’s priorities

To facilitate the process of arms limitation and reduction of nuclear weapons, counteract growing threats to the nuclear non-proliferation regime and erosion of the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), including the escalating danger of nuclear terrorism and attempts by separate states to gain access to nuclear materials and technologies;
To promote international peace and security through new approaches, and propose to decision-makers practical solutions to non-proliferation and arms control critical issues.

The principal guiding bodies of the Forum

Supervisory Board (SB)


Among the prominent politicians, public figures, and world-renowned scientists who sit on the Supervisory Board are: Hans BLIX, Ambassador (former Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency), Ph.D. (Sweden); Jayantha DHANAPALA, Ambassador, Distinguished Associate Fellow at the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (former President of the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs, United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Disarmament Affairs) (Sri Lanka); Sergio DUARTE, President of the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs, Ambassador (former United Nations High Representative for Disarmament Affairs) (Brazil); Rolf EKEUS, Ambassador (former High Commissioner on National Minorities, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe) (Sweden); Gareth EVANS, Chancellor of the Australian National University (former Senator and Member of Parliament, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Australia) (Australia); Igor IVANOV, President of the Russian International Affairs Council (former Russian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Secretary of the Security Council of the Russian Federation), Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia); Robert LEGVOLD, Marshall D. Shulman Professor Emeritus, Department of Political Science and the Harriman Institute, Columbia University; Ph.D. (USA); Vladimir LUKIN, Higher School of Economics; Member of the Supervisory Board, International Luxembourg Forum (former Deputy Chairman of the Committee on International Relations, Council of Federation, Federal Council of Russia (Russian Senate); Chairman of the Committee on International Relations and Deputy Chairman of the State Duma, Russian Federation; President, Russian Paralympic Committee; Ambassador of the Russian Federation to the United States of America; Commissioner on Human Rights for the Russian Federation) (Russia); William PERRY, Professor at the Stanford University (former US Secretary of Defense), Ph.D. (United States); William POTTER, Director, James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies; Sam Nunn and Richard Lugar Professor of Nonproliferation Studies, Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey; Ph.D. (USA); Roald SAGDEEV, Distinguished Professor at the University of Maryland, Director Emeritus of the Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia/United States); Feodor VOITOLOVSKY, Director, Primakov National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO), Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS); Corresponding Member, RAS; Professor, RAS (Russia). Members of the Supervisory Board issue recommendations on Forum involvement as a high-profile NGO for strengthening international peace and security.

International Advisory Council (IAC)


The International Advisory Council consists of more than 50 leading experts from many countries. IAC members make proposals on the Forum’s agenda, arrange events and participate in drafting the Forum’s final documents (declarations, memoranda, statements etc.) to be circulated to top-tier politicians, heads of international organisations and public figures around the world.

Organizing Committee (OC)


Chairman of the Organizing Committee is Vladimir DVORKIN, Deputy Chairmen are Alexey ARBATOV and Sergey OZNOBISHCHEV.

Luxembourg Forum

The Luxembourg Forum's activity

Since its inception, the Forum has held 30 events, including conferences on the most acute issues of nuclear arms control and nonproliferation, round tables, seminars, and book presentations.Each meeting concluded with concrete proposals presented to the heads of the leading states, UN Security Council, IAEA and other leading international organizations and institutions. The Luxembourg Forum maintains close working relations with a number of well-known international non-governmental organizations in the field of arms control and security. Among them: the Atlantic Council, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Eisenhower Group, Euro-Atlantic Security Initiative, European Leadership Network, Geneva Center for Security Policy, Global Zero initiative, Nuclear Threat Initiative, PIR Center, Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs, Russian International Affairs Council. The Forum has issued 12 booklets and 17 books (in both English and Russian languages), among them: ‘Arms Control: Burden of Change’; ‘The Limits of Secure Nuclear Tolerance’; ‘Reykjavik Summit: Lessons for the Future of US-Russian Relations’; ‘Preventing the Crisis of the Nuclear Arms Control and Catastrophic Terrorism’. ‘Revitalizing Nuclear Arms Control and Non-Proliferation’, ‘Topical Issues of Nuclear Non-proliferation’. The International Luxembourg Forum conducts research, proposes new initiatives, and produces proposals of practical value by actively engaging authoritative experts from various countries to analyze current issues of arms control, international security, and WMD nonproliferation.