The Forum’s priorities

To facilitate the process of arms limitation and reduction of nuclear weapons, counteract growing threats to the nuclear non-proliferation regime and erosion of the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), including the escalating danger of nuclear terrorism and attempts by separate states to gain access to nuclear materials and technologies;
To promote international peace and security through new approaches, and propose to decision-makers practical solutions to non-proliferation and arms control critical issues.

The principal guiding bodies of the Forum

President of the Luxembourg Forum

Viatcheslav KANTOR

Viatcheslav Kantor biography

Supervisory Board (SB)

Structure

Among the prominent politicians, public figures, and world-renowned scientists who sit on the Supervisory Board are: Hans BLIX, Ambassador (former Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency), Ph.D. (Sweden); Desmond BROWNE, Vice Chairman of the Nuclear Threat Initiative (former UK Secretary of State for Defense, Secretary of State for Scotland, Member of Parliament), Lord Browne of Ladyton (United Kingdom); Jayantha DHANAPALA, President of the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs (former UN Under-Secretary-General heading the Department for Disarmament Affairs), Ambassador (Sri Lanka); Rolf EKEUS, Ambassador (former High Commissioner on National Minorities, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe) (Sweden); Gareth EVANS, Chancellor of the Australian National University (former Senator and Member of Parliament, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Australia) (Australia); Igor IVANOV, President of the Russian International Affairs Council (former Russian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Secretary of the Security Council of the Russian Federation), Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia); Henry KISSINGER, Chairman of Kissinger Associates (former US Secretary of State, Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs), Ph.D. (United States); Vladimir LUKIN, Deputy Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Council of the Federation the Russian Federation, President of the Paralympics Committee of the Russian Federation, Professor at the Higher School of Economics (former Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee and Deputy Chairman of the State Duma of the Russian Federation, Ambassador to the USA), Ph.D. (Russia); Ernest MONIZ, Co-Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Nuclear Threat Initiative ( former U.S. Secretary of Energy) (USA); Sam NUNN, Co-Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Nuclear Threat Initiative (former Chairman of the US Senate Armed Services Committee and the Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations) (United States); William PERRY, Professor at the Stanford University (former US Secretary of Defense), Ph.D. (United States); William POTTER, Director, James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies; Sam Nunn and Richard Lugar Professor of Nonproliferation Studies, Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey; Ph.D. (USA); Roald SAGDEEV, Distinguished Professor at the University of Maryland, Director Emeritus of the Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia/United States). Members of the Supervisory Board issue recommendations on Forum involvement as a high-profile NGO for strengthening international peace and security.

International Advisory Council (IAC)

Structure

The International Advisory Council consists of more than 50 leading experts from many countries. IAC members make proposals on the Forum’s agenda, arrange events and participate in drafting the Forum’s final documents (declarations, memoranda, statements etc.) to be circulated to top-tier politicians, heads of international organisations and public figures around the world.

Organizing Committee (OC)

Structure

Chairman of the Organizing Committee is Vladimir DVORKIN, Deputy Chairmen are Alexey ARBATOV and Sergey OZNOBISHCHEV.

Luxembourg Forum

The Luxembourg Forum's activity

Since its inception, the Forum has held 30 events, including conferences on the most acute issues of nuclear arms control and nonproliferation, round tables, seminars, and book presentations.Each meeting concluded with concrete proposals presented to the heads of the leading states, UN Security Council, IAEA and other leading international organizations and institutions. The Luxembourg Forum maintains close working relations with a number of well-known international non-governmental organizations in the field of arms control and security. Among them: the Atlantic Council, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Eisenhower Group, Euro-Atlantic Security Initiative, European Leadership Network, Geneva Center for Security Policy, Global Zero initiative, Nuclear Threat Initiative, PIR Center, Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs, Russian International Affairs Council. The Forum has issued 12 booklets and 17 books (in both English and Russian languages), among them: ‘Arms Control: Burden of Change’; ‘The Limits of Secure Nuclear Tolerance’; ‘Reykjavik Summit: Lessons for the Future of US-Russian Relations’; ‘Preventing the Crisis of the Nuclear Arms Control and Catastrophic Terrorism’. ‘Revitalizing Nuclear Arms Control and Non-Proliferation’, ‘Topical Issues of Nuclear Non-proliferation’. The International Luxembourg Forum conducts research, proposes new initiatives, and produces proposals of practical value by actively engaging authoritative experts from various countries to analyze current issues of arms control, international security, and WMD nonproliferation.

Основные задачи форума

Содействие процессу ограничения и сокращения ядерных вооружений, противодействие нарастающим угрозам режиму нераспространения и размыванию основ Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия (ДНЯО) включая предотвращение роста ядерного терроризма и попыток отдельных стран получить доступ к ядерным материалам и технологиям.
Укрепление глобального мира и безопасности путем использования новых подходов и разработки практически ориентированных предложений для политических лидеров по ключевым аспектам ядерного нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями.

Основные органы форума

Президент Форума

Вячеслав Владимирович Кантор

Биография

Наблюдательный совет (НС)

Структура

В Наблюдательный совет входят видные политики, общественные деятели, всемирно известные ученые: Ханс БЛИКС, посол (ранее — генеральный директор Международного агентства по атомной энергии), доктор наук (Швеция); Дес БРАУН, вице–президент фонда «Инициатива по снижению ядерной угрозы» (ранее — министр обороны Великобритании, министр по делам Шотландии, член парламента), лорд (Великобритания); Джаянта ДХАНАПАЛА, президент Пагуошского движения учёных (ранее — заместитель Генерального секретаря ООН по проблемам разоружения), посол (Шри–Ланка); Игорь ИВАНОВ, президент Российского совета по международным делам (ранее — министр иностранных дел России, секретарь Совета Безопасности Российской Федерации), член–корреспондент РАН (Россия); Генри КИССИНДЖЕР, председатель «Киссинджер Ассошиэйтс» (ранее — государственный секретарь США, советник президента по национальной безопасности) доктор наук (США); Владимир ЛУКИН, заместитель председателя Комитета Совета Федерации РФпо международным делам, президент Паралимпийского комитета РФ, профессор Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики» (ранее — председатель Комитета по международным делам и заместитель председателя Государственной Думы ФС РФ, посол Российской Федерации в США), доктор наук (Россия); Эрнест МОНИЗ, сопредседатель и главный исполнительный директор фонда «Инициатива по снижению ядерной угрозы» (ранее – министр энергетики США) (США); Сэм НАНН, сопредседатель Совета директоров фонда «Инициатива по снижению ядерной угрозы» (ранее — председатель Комитета по делам вооруженных сил и постоянного подкомитета по расследованиям Сената США) (США); Уильям ПЕРРИ, профессор Стэнфордского университета (ранее — министр обороны США), доктор наук (США); Уильям ПОТТЕР, директор Центра по изучению проблем нераспространения имени Дж.Мартина, профессор Монтерейского института международных исследований, доктор наук (США); Роальд САГДЕЕВ, профессор Университета штата Мэриленд, академик РАН (Россия/США); Гарет ЭВАНС, председатель правления Австралийского национального университета (ранее — сенатор и член парламента, министр иностранных дел Австралии) (Австралия); Рольф ЭКЕУС, посол (ранее — Верховный комиссар по делам национальных меньшинств Организации по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе) (Швеция). Члены Наблюдательного совета дают рекомендации по направлениям деятельности Форума как общественной организации высокого уровня, нацеленной на укрепление мира и безопасности.

Международный консультативный совет (МКС)

Структура

В Международный консультативный совет входят более 50 ведущих экспертов из разных стран. Члены МКС вносят предложения по повестке дня, организуют мероприятия, участвуют в подготовке итоговых документов Форума (декларации, специальные заявления, меморандумы и т. п.) для рассылки ведущим политикам, главам международных организаций и общественным деятелям всего мира.

Организационный комитет (ОК)

Структура

Председатель Организационного комитета – Владимир ДВОРКИН, заместители Председателя – Алексей АРБАТОВ, Сергей ОЗНОБИЩЕВ.

Люксембургский форум

Деятельность Люксембургского форума

С момента своего создания, форум провёл более 30 мероприятий, включая конференции по наиболее актуальным проблемам контроля над вооружениями и нераспространения, круглые столы, семинары и презентации книг. Итогом каждого мероприятия являются конкретные предложения, представляемые лидерам ведущих государств, в Совет Безопасности ООН, МАГАТЭ и другие ведущие международные организации. Люксембургский форум поддерживает тесные рабочие отношения с рядом известных международных неправительственных организаций в области контроля над вооружениями и безопасности. Среди них: Атлантический Совет, Фонд Карнеги за международный мир, Эйзенхауэр Груп, Евроатлантическая инициатива по безопасности, Сеть европейских лидеров, Женевский центр политики безопасности, Глобальный ноль, Инициатива по снижению ядерной угрозы, ПИР-Центр, Пагуошское движение учёных, Российский совет по международным делам и др. Форум выпустил 12 буклетов и книг (на английском и русском языках), включая: “Arms Control: Burden of Change”, «Критерии безопасной ядерной толерантности режимов ядерного нераспространения», “Reykjavik Summit: Lessons for the Future of US-Russian Relations”, «Предотвращение кризиса в контроле над ядерными вооружениями и катастрофического терроризма», “Revitalizing Nuclear Arms Control and Non-Proliferation”, «Актуальные проблемы нераспространения ядерного оружия» и др. Люксембургский форум проводит исследования, выдвигает новые инициативы и вносит практические предложения, привлекая авторитетных экспертов из разных стран к анализу текущий вопросов контроля над вооружениями, международной безопасности и нераспространения ОМУ.

Мероприятия