Board of Governors Elects New Chair and Other Officers

The IAEA Board of Governors has elected the Governor for Malaysia, Mr. M. H. Arshad, as its Chairman for 2009-2010 (one year mandate) at a meeting held today in Vienna.

Ambassador Arshad is the Ambassador and Resident Representative to Austria and to the Slovak Republic, and Permanent Representative of Malysia to the Office of the United Nations and the International Organisations in Vienna.

The Ambassadors and Resident Representatives of Romania and Germany were also elected as Vice-Chairmen. They are Mr. Cornel Ferută, Governor for Romania, and Mr. Rudiger Ludeking, Governor for Germany.

Eleven countries were elected last week to serve on the 35-member IAEA Board of Governors for the two-year period 2009-2011. The action was taken by Member States meeting at the IAEA General Conference in Vienna. The newly elected Board members are Azerbaijan, Cameroon, Denmark, Kenya, the Republic of Korea, Mongolia, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Peru, Ukraine and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

Other Member States represented on the IAEA Board during 2009-2010 are the Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Canada, China, Cuba, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Romania, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Uruguay, the UK, and the USA.