Viatcheslav Kantor

President of the Luxembourg Forum

Well-known international public activist, philanthropist, entrepreneur and investor, strongly involved in finding ways to resolve issues of nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, and promoting secure tolerance worldwide.

Viatcheslav Kantor is president of the International Luxembourg Forum on Preventing Nuclear Catastrophe, president of the European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation, president of the European Jewish Congress, chair of the World Jewish Congress Policy Council, president of the World Holocaust Forum Foundation and chair of the European Jewish Fund.

In 2007, Kantor initiated the founding of the International Luxembourg Forum on Preventing Nuclear Catastrophe (Luxembourg Forum), the major umbrella NGO for the world’s leading experts in non-proliferation of nuclear weapons, materials and delivery systems.

In 2007, Kantor was named president of the Luxembourg Forum, which was established following the International Conference held in Luxembourg on May 24-25, 2007. The conference brought together over 50 renowned experts from 14 countries, including: Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Mohamed ElBaradei; Head of the Russian Federal Agency for Atomic Energy Sergey Kirienko; Vice President of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Academician Nikolay Laverov; former U.S. Secretary of Defense William Perry; and chair of the Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission, former IAEA Director General Hans Blix. The initiative to convene the conference was originally born of the paramount importance of resolving nuclear security issues in light of the growing danger of the collapse of the existing system of nuclear weapons non-proliferation and the reality of the nuclear threat.

The Luxembourg Forum’s activities are aimed at discussing nuclear security and non-proliferation issues, as well as elaborating proposals and recommendations to political leaders and diplomats regarding the reinforcement of nuclear security. The Luxembourg Forum works to prevent trivialization of the nuclear threat in the modern world and aims to provide trustworthy information on the current situation in states and regions of concern (Near and Middle East, Northeast Asia and South Asia).

Led by the Forum’s president, its experts are also working to find a solution to the Iranian nuclear dilemma, a way out of the North Korean nuclear dead-end, and a means to prevent the spread of nuclear terrorism.

In 2008, Viatcheslav Kantor was one of the founders of the European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation (ECTR), where he currently serves as president with former UK Prime Minister Tony Blair as chair. The ECTR’s priority tasks are to monitor the level of tolerance in European countries and prepare practical recommendations to governments and international organizations on improving interracial relations and intercultural communication.

One of the Council’s key achievements is a draft Model National Law for the Promotion of Tolerance, which will serve as a pan-European legislative initiative to introduce anti-racist laws and practices in every country and will be submitted for adoption by legislative bodies of European countries. The Law sets forth the concept and definition of tolerance and the principles for relationships between various social groups.

Viatcheslav Kantor is one of the main initiators and supporters of a pan-European program against xenophobia, anti-Semitism and neo-Nazism, as well as extremism and other existential threats. The program is currently being implemented in multiples directions – education, culture, science and religion – and is supported by political leaders and organizations, including the Council of Europe and the European Union.

In 2011, Kantor issued a major work entitled the Manifesto on Secure Tolerance, which was written for educational, social and humanitarian purposes only. It describes, among other things, the concepts of global security and tolerance. The Manifesto is available in seven languages: Russian, English, French, Chinese, Spanish, Hebrew and Arabic.

Science and Business Career

After graduating from university, Viatcheslav Kantor worked as head of a leading USSR spacecraft laboratory. Based on his research, a satellite was designed and launched into Earth orbit to illuminate the planet’s surface with reflected sunlight.

In 1993, he took the helm of agrochemical company Acron, which under his leadership became a world-leading manufacturer and supplier of mineral fertilizers. Acron is a nine-time winner of the Best Russian Company award, which is conferred by the Russian Chamber and Industry together with the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs.

In 1996-2000, Kantor was economic adviser to the Chair of the Federation Council (Upper House of the Russian Parliament) of the Russian Federal Assembly.

In 1997, Viatcheslav Kantor was named Honorary Citizen of Veliky Novgorod for his major contribution to development and strengthening of economy, science and cultural heritage of the old city of Novgorod, and improvement of social and living conditions for its residents.

In 2000, Viatcheslav Kantor was one of the founders of the National Institute of Corporate Reform, a non-commercial organization uniting prominent political and business leaders and scientists to promote reforms at Russian companies.

Personal Information

Education:

  • Graduated from the Moscow Aviation Institute (1976)
  • PhD (Russia), Honorary Doctorate from Tel Aviv University;

Russian and international government awards:

  • Order of Honor (Russia, 2016);
  • Officer of the National Order of the Legion of Honor (France, 2015);
  • Grand Cross of the National Order ‘For Merit’ (Romania, 2014)
  • Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic (Italy, 2013)
  • Knight of the National Order of the Legion of Honor (France, 2012)
  • Order of Leopold (Belgium, 2009)
  • Order of Prince Yaroslav the Wise (Ukraine, 2006)
  • Order of Merit (Poland, 2005)
  • Order of Friendship (Russia, 1998)

Born on September 8, 1953 in Moscow, USSR.
Married with five children.

Кантор Вячеслав Владимирович

Президент Люксембургского Форума

Известный международный общественный деятель, филантроп, предприниматель и инвестор, активно участвующий в выработке решений проблем ядерного разоружения и нераспространения оружия массового уничтожения, продвижении принципов безопасной толерантности по всему миру.

Вячеслав Кантор является президентом Международного Люксембургского форума по предотвращению ядерной катастрофы, президентом Европейского совета по толерантности и примирению, президентом Европейского еврейского конгресса, председателем Совета по политике Всемирного еврейского конгресса, президентом Фонда «Всемирный форум памяти Холокоста», председателем Европейского еврейского фонда.

По инициативе Кантора, в 2007 году был основан Международный Люксембургский форум по предотвращению ядерной катастрофы — крупнейшая неправительственная организация, объединяющая ведущих мировых экспертов в области нераспространения ядерного оружия, ядерных материалов и средств доставки.

В 2007 году Кантор стал президентом Международного Люксембургского форума, который был создан по итогам Международной конференции, состоявшейся 24-25 мая 2007 года в Люксембурге. В конференции приняли участие более 50 авторитетных экспертов из 14 стран, включая генерального директора Международного агентства по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ) Мохаммеда аль-Барадеи; руководителя Федерального агентства по атомной энергетике России С. В. Кириенко; вице-президента РАН академика Н. П. Лаверова; бывшего министра обороны США У. Перри; председателя Международной комиссии по оружию массового уничтожения, бывшего генерального директора МАГАТЭ Х. Бликса. Инициатива проведения конференции была, прежде всего, обусловлена первостепенной важностью урегулирования вопросов ядерной безопасности, растущей опасностью краха существующей системы нераспространения ядерного оружия и реальностью ядерной угрозы.

Деятельность Международного Люксембургского форума направлена на обсуждение проблем ядерной безопасности, вопросов нераспространения ядерного оружия, а также разработку предложений и рекомендаций политикам и дипломатам по укреплению ядерной безопасности. Работа Форума способствует борьбе с «банализацией» ядерной угрозы в современном мире и нацелена на предоставление достоверной информации о текущей ситуации в проблемных государствах и регионах (Ближний и Средний Восток, Северо-Восточная и Южная Азия).

Эксперты Люксембургского форума под руководством его президента также принимают участие в поисках путей решения ядерной проблемы Ирана, выхода из северокорейского ядерного «тупика» и недопущения распространения ядерного терроризма.

В 2008 г. Вячеслав Кантор выступил в роли одного из основателей Европейского совета по толерантности и примирению (ЕСТП). Сегодня он является президентом ЕСТП, председателем Совета является экс-премьер-министр Великобритании Тони Блэр. Основная задача Европейского совета по толерантности и примирению — мониторинг уровня толерантности в странах Европы, разработка практических инициатив и подготовка рекомендаций по формированию атмосферы взаимопонимания и взаимоуважения между культурами.

Одним из ключевых достижений ЕСТП является разработка проекта Типового национального закона о развитии толерантности. Он должен послужить панъевропейской законодательной инициативой для введения антирасистских законов и практик в каждой стране и будет предоставлен с целью принятия законодательными органами европейских государств. Закон прописывает основные принципы и понятия толерантности, принципы взаимоотношений между различными социальными группами.

Вячеслав Кантор является одним из главных инициаторов и сторонников реализации панъевропейской программы по борьбе с ксенофобией, антисемитизмом и неонацизмом, а также с экстремизмом и другими экзистенциональными угрозами. Программа реализуется в различных направлениях — образование, культура и религия — и поддерживается ведущими политическими деятелями и организациями, такими как Совет Европы и Европейский Союз.

В 2011 году был издан программный труд Вячеслава Кантора – Манифест «О безопасной толерантности». Данный проект носит исключительно просветительский характер и преследует сугубо общественные и гуманитарные цели, в том числе рассказывает о концепциях глобальной безопасности и толерантности. Манифест издан на 7 языках, в числе которых русский, английский, французский, китайский, испанский, иврит и арабский.

Научная деятельность и предпринимательство

После окончания института Вячеслав Кантор руководил ведущей лабораторией в СССР, занимавшейся проектированием космических летательных аппаратов. На основе его научно-исследовательских разработок был спроектирован и запущен на орбиту Земли спутник-отражатель для освещения поверхности планеты с помощью солнечного света.

В 1993 г. он возглавил агрохимическую компанию «Акрон», которая под его руководством стала одним из мировых лидеров в производстве и продаже минеральных удобрений. Компания девять раз побеждала в конкурсе «Лучшее российское предприятие», проводимом Торгово-промышленной палатой Российской Федерации совместно с Российским союзом промышленников и предпринимателей.

В период с 1996 по 2000 гг. Кантор занимал пост советника по экономическим вопросам Председателя Совета Федерации (Верхней палаты Парламента РФ) Федерального Собрания РФ.

В 1997 году В. Кантору было присвоено звание почётного гражданина Великого Новгорода "за большой вклад в развитие и укрепление экономики, науки и культурного наследия древнего Новгорода, улучшение социально-бытовых условий жизни новгородцев"

В 2000 г. Вячеслав Кантор выступил в роли одного из учредителей «Национального института корпоративной реформы» (НИКР), некоммерческой организации, объединяющей известных политиков, бизнесменов и учёных, призванной активно способствовать корпоративному реформированию российских предприятий.

Персональные сведения

Образование:

  • Окончил Московский авиационный институт (1976 г.)
  • кандидат технических наук (Россия), почётный доктор Тель-Авивского университета;

Правительственные награды России и зарубежных стран:

  • Орден Почёта (Россия, 2016);
  • Офицер Ордена Почётного легиона (Франция, 2015);
  • Кавалер Большого Креста румынского национального Ордена «За заслуги» (Румыния, 2014);
  • Кавалер Большого Креста Ордена «За заслуги перед Итальянской республикой» (Италия, 2013);
  • Кавалер Ордена Почётного легиона (Франция, 2012);
  • Орден Леопольда (Бельгия, 2009 г.);
  • Орден Князя Ярослава Мудрого (Украина, 2006 г.);
  • Орден «За заслуги» (Польша, 2005 г.);
  • Орден Дружбы (Россия, 1998 г.).

Родился 8 сентября 1953 г. в Москве, СССР.
Женат, пятеро детей.